Betty Ross Scholarship

Academy for Lifetime Learning

Betty Ross Scholarships

Each year the Academy for Lifetime Learning (A.L.L.) provides scholarships to help graduating students on the Eastern Shore of Virginia continue their education at a community college or university.  In honor of the founder of The Academy for Lifetime Learning, who spent her career in nursing and who passed away in 2014, these scholarships have collectively been named the Betty Ross Academy for Lifetime Learning Scholarship.  All of the scholarships are to be used to defray college expenses.

The number of scholarships awarded varies from year to year.  In recognition of Betty Ross’s importance to our organization, one of them is reserved for a student entering a two- or four-year nursing program.  The others are available to students beginning a program in any discipline at a two- or four-year college or university in the fall.  The application form for the 2023 scholarships will be found here when it becomes available in the spring of 2023.


2022 Betty Ross Scholarship Winners


Scholarship Recipients
         Hailey Sturgis                 Hannah Bradford                 Angelina Joynes

For 2022 The Academy for Lifetime Learning awarded $1500 scholarships to three Eastern Shore of Virginia high school graduates. Hailey Sturgis graduated from Broadwater Academy and will attend Sweet Briar College. She plans to study biology and hopes to become an equine physical therapist. She did her internship at Eastern Shore Animal Hospital and enjoys working with rescue horses. Hannah Bradford was home-schooled and will attend Lee University. She will study mathematics and plans to be a K-12 teacher. She was a math tutor at ESCC and led a weekly girls’ Bible study at her home during 11th and 12th grades.  Angelina Joynes, a graduate of Nandua High School, plans to begin her studies at Tidewater Community College and then transfer to Virginia Tech to study electrical engineering. She graduated in the top 15 of her class and was very active in school sports .



Information for the 2023 Betty Ross Scholarships will be found here in spring 2023.

The application form for the 2023 Betty Ross Scholarships will be found here in spring 2023.


The Academy for Lifetime Learning of the Eastern Shore of Virginia is an all-volunteer, not-for-profit organization. Members share a common interest in continuing learning experiences and intellectual stimulation.

Past Winners of the Betty Ross Academy for Lifetime Learning Scholarship

Emma Faith, Chincoteague HS
Ethan Elliott, Nandua HS
Mahika Patel, Broadwater Academy

McKenzie Mabalot, Broadwater Academy
Virginia Ross, Broadwater Academy
Taylee Thomas, Chincoteague HS

Briana Hess, Chincoteague HS

Brian Drummond, Broadwater Academy
William Hollandsworth, Nandua HS
Wendy Lin, Northampton HS

Stephanie Rasinski, Arcadia HS
Hayley Marshall, Northampton HS
Kanijah Brickhouse, Northampton HS

Tanner Troyer, Nandua High School

Durwood Moore, Arcadia HS
Luke Betts, Chincoteague HS

Caroline Hiler, Northampton HS
Nicolas Dias, ESCC and Nandua HS
James Teeling, Northampton HS

Madhurima (Rima) Hore, Northampton HS
Charlotte Olmstead, Nandua HS, (summer @ startup SW company)

Courtney Brittingham, Northampton
Logan Holland, Broadwater
Kelsey Bisker, Northampton



A.L.L. Mailing Address


The Academy for Lifetime Learning
P.O. Box 509
Exmore, VA 23350